Are you on Discord patiently waiting for someone to reply to your messages?
Finding yourself asking the questions, what does inactive on Discord mean and how do you know if someone is inactive on Discord?
Whether you’re new to the app or just need a better understanding of how everything works, these are important questions to ask yourself when using this community-based online chat service.
Since Discord is a free, informal chat app that brings people together from all over the world, it’s no wonder you wonder how AFK works and what it is like when you don’t get any responses from your chats.
We have created this easy-to-follow guide just to help you understand what inactive means on Discord and to provide you with more information related to this topic.
What does inactive mean on Discord?
You’ve been on Discord for a while chatting in private chats or communities you’ve joined, and you notice an orange crescent moon next to someone’s profile.
How to know if someone is inactive on Discord?
This little logo represents a user who is ‘inactive’. This will automatically appear on someone’s profile when they have signed in to Discord, but haven’t been active with other users or on the site for about 10 minutes.
You may know the term ‘AFK’ which stands for ‘Away from the keyboard’ and it’s almost exactly the same as being idle on Discord. Once someone comes back and starts interacting, the inactive logo will automatically disappear and its status will return to “online”.
Note, It may take a few minutes for your automatic status change to be reflected on your profile.
How do I make it inactive on Discord?
Although the change to inactive will happen automatically on your profile when you have been away for a few minutes, you can manually change your online status to inactive;
Step 1. Login in Discord
Step 2. Find your profile at the bottom of the screen on the left and click on it
Step 3. Please select ‘Inactive’
Your profile will now be inactive and will display the orange crescent moon.
Note, Manually setting your profile to inactive will mean that you will have to bring it back online yourself, as opposed to inactive status which is automatically activated.
You can also set your status online, tp do not disturb and invisible.
What does invisible mean on Discord?
Being able to manually change the status of your profile on Discord, it helps to know what each one means.
The ‘Do not bother’ the state is self explanatory. Setting your profile in this state will tell other users that you do not want to be contacted, and if someone sends you a message, you will not be notified until you reconnect.
‘Invisible’ on Discord is a slightly different state and can be confusing for some who are very new to using Discord.
Changing your status to ‘invisible’ will show others that you are offline. This will tell other users that you are not available to chat or play with, and if they send you a message, you will not receive it until you connect.
Invisible is the opposite. You will continue to receive notifications and messages that are sent to you. You can still chat in private messages and your selected communities. Your profile will be viewed as unreachable by those with whom you are not communicating.
- How To Fix Discord Bad Gateway Error 502
How to tell if someone is invisible on Discord?
The invisible status in Discord has been specifically created to not let other users know that you are online.
Any user who is logged into Discord will not be able to tell if someone is in invisible mode, as a person’s profile will appear as offline.
However, if you receive a message or are playing a game with someone in an offline state, you can assume that you have activated the invisible state.
The invisible status setting will show up as a gray dot, as if you’ve disconnected from Discord.
Does it appear disconnected when you close Discord?
Logging out of Discord or closing the app will cause your status to turn gray, confirming that you are now offline and unable to communicate with Discord.
So what happens when you close the discord? Once you have closed Discord, it will disconnect your device from the server, be it your mobile or your PC. As with any app, you’ll need to reconnect to Discord if you want to check for any notifications.
One thing to keep in mind is that when you have decided that you want to log out of Discord completely, it will be beneficial to ensure that it is no longer running in the background on your device as this can use up a lot of data as well. like battery life, especially if it’s on your mobile network.
Enter your Task Manager, and verify that Discord is not running. If so, click on Discord and choose ‘Final task’.
On your home screen, move up to the center of the screen. If you find the Discord app showing up, click on it and swipe up to get rid of it.
Go to Settings and find the Discord app. Select it and choose ‘Forced stop ‘. If it doesn’t give you the option to force stop, Discord wasn’t running in the background.
Understanding how to set up your Discord profile and what each setting means is critical to having a great user experience with the app. Without knowing how inactivity works in Discord and what invisible means in Discord, it can prevent you from making the most of your time on the chat service.
We hope this easy-to-read guide has covered everything you need to know in Discord’s status settings, and if you have any more questions or concerns, you can make use of Discord’s.