Snapchat is a popular social media app that rose to the top due to its user privacy culture. Sending non-trace snapshots and messages, automatically deleting content, and alerting users if a screenshot was captured created some wacky features.
If you are not openly familiar with the application, there are many things to learn. Even the most seasoned Snapchat users have questions about deleting messages. Snapchat messages are set to automatically delete after reading (or 24 hours depending on your settings). Users can also manually delete these communications. So how will you know if someone deleted a message that you sent to you?
This piece was prompted by a longer discussion on Snapchat that raised quite a few questions within the team. Although most people are seasoned social media users, there are still things they don’t know. Some of the questions that arose are listed below.
Identify when someone deletes your chat messages
Identifying when someone deletes your chat message depends on how it was deleted. If the user deletes the chat after viewing it (or after 24 hours depending on their chat settings), it is considered a normal function. You don’t get an alert that the user deleted the chat.
However, Snapchat now allows you to delete a chat after sending it by holding your finger on the conversation and choosing the delete option. While you can delete a message for any reason (typo, wrong person, etc.), the other user sees that you deleted the message.
On the other hand, if users delete all of their chat history from settings, that won’t alert any senders to clear cache, mainly because it only clears history on active users side.
Manual deletion of chats on Snapchat
Obviously, you can delete all the chats and stories on your side, but not for the person on the other side of the conversation. Remember that manually deleting chat conversations before the other party receives them notifies them that a message was deleted. If you’re doing spring cleaning and want to clean up conversations, you can delete your chat stream without worrying about the other parties knowing about it.
To clean up your chat feed:
- Open Snapchat and select your “Profile icon“In the upper left.
- Select the “Menu icon“–The one that looks like a gear– to access the settings.
- Scroll to Clear conversations within the Privacy heading.
- Tap on the ‘X’ next to the conversations in the next window to delete them.
You can also delete your Stories, if you want. They self-destruct after 24 hours, but if you want to speed up, you can.
- Open Snapchat and click your profile icon in the top left-hand corner.
- Select story you want to remove from the list.
- Select the “little up arrow“At the bottom of the story.
- Select the “Trash can icon. ”
- Confirm by clicking “Delete.”
This will remove it from Snapchat with immediate effect. If someone is already viewing it, they can finish it as they already loaded it, but once closed it will disappear.
You’ve probably already noticed that Snapchat can be pretty lazy when it comes to notifications. The brief nature of Snapchat probably plays a role in it; when the user base is used to communications disappearing in a day. If users were sent a notification about every other user’s activity, it would likely lose its appeal over time.
Snapchats removal faq
If I remove someone as a friend, can you still see the last message I sent?
Yes, once the other person gets the message, they lose control. The server delivers the message to the other person’s device. That message still appears on his Snapchat account.
There are some third party apps that claim to delete the message from another user’s inbox. Unfortunately, they don’t seem to work. As stated above, once a message is sent to someone else, the server places that message in your inbox, taking it out of your control.
A tried and true method to delete a message is to delete your Snapchat account. Depending on the content you have submitted, deleting your account is a drastic measure, but perhaps a necessary one.
Can anyone tell if you forward their Snapchat to someone else?
No, Snapchat does not notify the original creator of Story that it was forwarded to someone else. Snapchat tells them who saw it initially, but not what happens after that.
Alphr tested this to make sure it is still valid and no notification was received when someone forwarded the story to someone else.
Can you block someone’s Snapchat story without deleting them as a friend?
Snapchat gives you the option to ‘mute’ someone’s story. Visit the offender’s profile and tap on the three vertical dots located in the upper right corner. Tap “Mute Story” so it turns blue.
Fortunately, Snapchat doesn’t send an alert to another user if they mute their story or lock their account. There are a few ways to find out if someone has removed you from your Snapchat friends list. Although there are no official ways for your friends to see if you’ve blocked them, there are some telltale signs.
You can also skip them. Just swipe left when the story appears and Snapchat will move on to the next one. Socially, this is a much easier and safer option as it won’t offend anyone and you won’t have to explain to your friend that they can’t find you on Snapchat anymore because you thought it was boring.
‘Sorry! The username could not be found. ‘Have they blocked me?
Surprisingly, only one of us has seen this message. That tells us that we are all boring and harmless or that we have forgiving friends. So what does the message tell us? If you see ‘Sorry! Username could not be found ‘, it usually means that person has blocked it.
Rather than tell you in plain English, Snapchat thought it would be a milder disappointment if it just said the app can’t find them.