How To Make a Private Story in the Snapchat App

Why are Snapchat stories so useful? Putting together a story is one of the fastest ways to post the highlights of your day or an event. It’s also one of the quickest ways for people to catch up on what you’ve been up to without going through entire albums with hundreds of photos.

Snapchat is a constantly developing social media platform. It is popular among humans of all age companies internationally. Snapchat helps you to share snaps along with your Snapchat friends in a photograph or video format. You also can put up your snaps to your Snapchat stories and let your pals get a glimpse of your day. Some human beings do now not want to share the entirety they may be doing with all of the friend’s list on Snapchat, the platform offers an choice to create a new private tale.

Snapchat is a famous social media platform in which chats disappear as soon as you view them. We tend to have unique social organizations for one of a kind structures. Here is a way to create a new non-public tale organization in your Snapchat account.

How to make a private story on the Snapchat app

But if you are an outgoing person, you will eventually add Snapchat friends that you are not exactly close with. You can even add people you never spoke to.

This means that when you want to share some personal stories, it would be very convenient to have the option to be more selective about who can see them. Fortunately, this is not a problem on Snapchat.

If you need to allow best select pals to view your Snapchat Story, you could make a Private Story on your account. We’ll show you a way to do this in Snapchat on iPhone and Android.

How Snapchat’s Private Story Works

In a Snapchat Private Story, simplest you may upload Snaps. Also, most effective the friends you select can view those Stories. Your non-decided on friends won’t even recognize you’ve got created a Private Story.

Your buddies will see your Private Stories jumbled together together with your My Stories. However, on an Android device, Private Stories and My Stories might also seem one after the other.

Understand Snapchat stories

Snapchat gives you the option to use “My Story” and “Our Story”. Each feature is designed for a very specific purpose. While everyone should know by now what “My Story” means, there are likely still some users who haven’t tried “Our Story”.

This feature was introduced to allow Snapchatters to contribute to stories in groups. Snapchat designed the app for use at events, to discuss various topics, capture amazing landscapes or travel adventures, etc. The main idea is that more than one person can contribute.

Both types of stories will remain active for 24 hours before they are automatically deleted, and they are all essentially customizable. But, depending on who has access to view the stories, you can also classify them with the following designations:

Private history

Unlike other types of Stories on Snapchat, Private Stories allow you to select the people for whom you want to view your content. Of course, depending on your privacy settings, you can make your account private. But this means that you will share your story with all your friends.

Creating a private story is really easy. Just follow these steps:

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on your profile icon in the upper left corner.
  2. Find the ‘Stories’ heading and tap on ‘Private Story’.
  3. Select the people who will have access to your story.
  4. Keep recording as you would any other Snapchat story and post it.

Although the interface on the Snapchat app can be difficult to get used to, posting Private Stories is really simple.

Personalized

Personalized stories were the latest addition to the Snapchat Story feature. It is a very popular upgrade due to the level of control it can exert. You can also create custom stories with friends since “Our Story” feature was added.

Snapchat How to make a private story

In this case, each member of the group can contribute their own images and videos, thus enriching the story. Custom stories can only be viewed by collaborators by default. However, you can change the viewing privileges and allow other friends to view them as well.

Geo

Geographic stories, which use geofences, allow you to create stories that also show your location. Snapchat will draw a one-block radius around your location, so you can invite people close to you to contribute to the story. Friends, friends of friends, and others within your one-block radius can add to the story you have created if you allow them.

Assign viewing privileges

What’s also great about Snapchat is that the app allows you to change the viewing privileges of stories even after posting. The steps involved are easy to follow.

  1. Go to your profile page.
  2. Touch “Settings.”
    how to make a private story on Snapchat
  3. Go to the “Who can …” tab.
  4. Select “See my story.”
    how to make a private story on Snapchat
  5. You will get three options: Everyone, Friends only, and Custom.
  6. Touch “Custom.”
  7. Touch the “Back” button to save your changes.

Choosing “All” is not the way to go if you want privacy for the content you are posting with the story. If you select “Friends only”, the story will be private to anyone who is not in your contact list. This includes friends of friends and people within your geofence.

The “Custom” option will allow you to choose which friends you want to be able to see your story. Whether you choose one or two close friends, a select group, or even just yourself, it’s entirely up to you.

Frequent questions

Will other people know that I made a private story on Snapchat?

No. The only people who can see your private history are those to whom you have granted that permission. But viewers can see that they are viewing private content.

Can I see who can see a private story?

No. If someone else posted a private story and added other users, you won’t be able to see who can see it too. Unless the other user adds to their story, no one will know who else has viewing privileges.

Can I add more people to my existing private story?

Yes. All you need to do is tap on your profile icon in the upper left corner and tap on the three dots next to your Private Story. Your friends list will appear and you can select the friends you want to add and then click ‘Save’ at the bottom.

Additional information on private Snapchat stories

Notifications are not sent when you allow someone to view your private story; to them, it will look like any other story. Therefore, you cannot use this feature as a marketing tool unless you let people know that they are the only ones with access to your content. If you want to use it that way, announce that you are publishing an exclusive story and only a select few will have access.

Private or not, all stories on Snapchat are 24 hours long. Even group stories created during events or trips last only one day. So don’t forget to check the save option when you are creating a new private story as it will prevent you from losing your snapshots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.